Sharing the Teaching Love…

I am a relatively new convert to Twitter. I love it. Not from a social climber, celebrity follower, cool person maker way, from a purely professional, educational networking kind of way. I am lucky to have been thrown in with some excellent people to follow.

I want to tell you why I think sharing the love on Twitter is awesome, and what it does for me.

  1. Networking: I have made connections with some fabulous education people such as Russell Tarr (creator of http://www.classtools.net) @russelltarr and Ross Morrison McGill AKA Teacher Toolkit (creator of http://www.teachertoolkit.me) @teachertoolkit. I have made contact with these two wonderful teachers both on and off Twitter. Russ invited me to submit a proposal for an international teaching conference in Toulouse in November, where I will be speaking about effective learner behaviours as inspired by TEEP. Ross has been a huge inspiration and actively helped me organise my own TeachMeet at my school.
  2. Exposure to ideas, resources and movements: I have come to discover WomenEd which is an amazing collection of women fighting the lack of females in leadership. As an inspiring Head/T&L coordinator I find their work crucial to my own career. I regularly share resources and blog posts, as do many others. Just today I found a new TEEP inspired strategy shared by @87history.
  3. Chatting: the professionals on twitter are all there for the same reasons as me, to share practice, resources and wisdom. To connect. We do this, as a collective, for our practice and our children. You can join in #chats on twitter, my particular favourites are #engchat and #sltchat. Both have designated topics and are hosted by one or more twitter users.

Now I think they are 3 flipping good reasons to sign up. Follow me @keeponteeping.

Leave a Reply

